×

Concerned about your own or
someone else’s drug use?

Free Take Home Naloxone

During an opioid overdose, the central nervous system slows down, and can stop a person from breathing. Naloxone is a short-acting drug that can temporarily reverse the effect of an opioid overdose, and give that person the ability to breathe again.

Naloxone is currently available nationally as a nasal spray or in a pre-filled syringe. In all states, Nyxoid® nasal spray and Prenoxad® pre-filled syringes are available over the counter from a pharmacy. With some basic training, it can be administered by anyone.

In New South Wales, Western Australia and South Australia, the ‘Take Home Naloxone’ pilot offers Naloxone free of charge from community and hospital-based pharmacies, alcohol and drug treatment centres, needle and syringe programs, custodial release programs and GP clinics. Visit the Take Home Naloxone page for further details:

http://www.health.gov.au/initiatives-and-programs/take-home-naloxone/

Take Home Naloxone is available for free in ACT, QLD, NT and VIC to opioid users, their friends and families through the services listed below.

If you do not see your service listed on this page, or find a contact out-of-date, please contact florence.bascombe@nccred.org.au.

This list is current as of September 2019.

Queensland

QuIHN – QuIHN is a statewide, not for profit, and non-government health service which provides a variety of health services to illicit drug users throughout Queensland

Take Home Naloxone contact: Dr Jeremy Hayllar – jeremy.hayllar@health.qld.gov.au

Victoria

Salvation Army – Crisis Services Network Rebecca Thatcher rebecca.thatcher@aus.salvationarmy.org
Richard Sherman richard.sherman@aus.salvationarmy.org
Monash Health Drug and Alcohol Service (Foster Street Clinic) Theresa Lewis Leevy Theresa.lewisleevy@monashhealth.org
Leanne Van leanne.van@monashhealth.org
Youth Projects – North West Outreach Program Tristan Duncan TristanD@youthprojects.org.au
Daniel Timms danielt@youthprojects.org.au
Your Community Health Kath O’Donnell Kathleen.odonnell@yourcommunityhealth.org.au
Michael Bramwell michael.bramwell@yourcommunityhealth.org.au
North Richmond Community Health Sandra Fox Sandraf@nrch.org.au
Cohealth Innerspace (Collingwood) Grant Liptrot Grant.Liptrot@cohealth.org.au
Paul Hamilton Paul.Hamilton@cohealth.org.au
Peninsula Health SHARPS Mel Thomson mthomson@phcn.vic.gov.au
IPC Health John Vernon john.vernon@ipchealth.com.au
Cohealth healthworks (Footscray) Danny Jeffcote Danny.jeffcote@cohealth.org.au
Cohealth Braybrook Community Hub Danny Jeffcote Danny.jeffcote@cohealth.org.au
Barwon Health Geelong Craig Harvey craig.harvey@barwonhealth.org.au
Merri Health Andrea Ness Andrea.Ness@merrihealth.org.au
Sunraysia Community Health Kevin O’Neill koneill@schs.com.au
STAR Health South Melbourne Elle Morrison emorrison@starhealth.org.au
Barwon Health Corio Craig Harvey craig.harvey@barwonhealth.org.au
Latrobe Community Health Service Birgit Senior Birgit.Senior@ichs.com.au
Gateway Health Karen Murison Karen.Murison@gatewayhealth.org.au
Youth Projects – Foot Patrol Tristan Duncan TristanD@youthprojects.org.au
  Daniel Timms Danielt@youthprojects.org.au
Primary Care Connect Tim Griffiths tgriffiths@primarycareconnect.com.au
Mercy Health – Weeibee Mercy Hospital Marcel Sinclair msinclair@mercy.com.au
Bendigo Community Health Services Bart McGill BartMcGill@bchs.com.au
STAR Health Prahran Elle Morrison emorrison@starhealth.org.au
EACH – Ringwood East Paul Mooney paul.mooney@each.com.au
  Jo Beckett o.beckett@each.com.au
Ballarat Community Health Pauline Molloy paulinemo@bchc.org.au
Portland Health Fiona Heenan fiona.heenan.pdh@swarh.vic.gov.au
Central Gippsland Health Mandy Pusmucans mandy.pusmucans@cghs.com.au

 

Australian Capital Territory

CAHMA – CAHMA is a peer based service, which believes that people who use drugs should be treated with dignity and respect.

CAHMA continues to provide take-home naloxone to ACT opioid users and their friends and families, and anyone else who believes that they may offer assistance if they should witness an opioid overdose, through their  Opioid Overdose Prevention and Management Program.

Take Home Naloxone contact: David Baxter – davidb@cahma.org.au

Northern Territory

NT AIDS & Hepatitis Counsil (NTAHC) Darwin Shayne Kilford shayne.kilford@ntahc.org.au
NTAHC Palmerston Peter Sidaway peter.sidaway@ntahc.org.au
NTAHC Alice Springs Jyoti Jadeja jyoti.jadeja@ntahc.org.au